Get Ready for the 10th Annual Belgotex Elite Club Challenge!

Get Ready for the 10th Annual Belgotex Elite Club Challenge!

4 Jul

6 Jul

Outdoor Hockey

Get Ready for the 10th Annual Belgotex Elite Club Challenge!

Welcome to the 10th annual Belgotex Elite Club Challenge! Hosted by Riverside Sports and Riverside Hockey Club, the Belgotex Elite Club Challenge has come a long way since its start in 2013. This year, we’re celebrating a whole decade of hockey excellence with 24 teams in action: 16 teams (8 men’s and 8 women’s) battling it out in the Challenge finals and 8 clubs competing for a spot in the 2025 finals through our brand-new qualifiers. Download the programme here.

Back in 2013, we started with just four teams, thanks to the initiative of three clubs – Riverside, Wanderers and WPCC Hockey. From those humble beginnings, we've expanded to include more teams, introduced female teams, and now, an on-site qualifying event. This growth shows our commitment to nurturing and sustaining hockey clubs across South Africa.

The Belgotex Elite Club Challenge is all about creating a competition at the same level as USSA for non-tertiary hockey clubs, promoting their sustainability. A criteria template developed after 2013 ensures a holistic assessment of participating clubs, considering factors like provincial league success and alignment with Riverside Hockey Club’s motto of ‘pure hockey enjoyment.’

Our awesome and forward-thinking title sponsors, Belgotex Sport, jumped on board in 2014. Their unwavering support has been key to the tournament’s success and growth.

This 10th BECC event is set to be the biggest, best and most exciting yet, with an expected turnout of 320 players, plus coaches, managers, and supporters, along with 160 qualifier participants. With the South African teams heading to the Olympic Games, we’re also thrilled to have Olympians Peabo Lembethe (Kearsney), Gowan Jones (Riverside), and the Central trio Dayaan Cassiem, Mustapha Cassiem, and Ryan Julius joining this year's event.

The defending women’s champions, Western Province Cricket Club, are back to reclaim their title from 2023. They’ll be up against Riverside, the most successful women’s team in the tournament with three wins, 2018 winners Wanderers, and 2019 champions Crusaders. Also in the mix for 2024 are PHSOB Hockey Club, Beaulieu, Phoenix and Kearsney.

Central made a splash in 2023 by claiming the men’s crown, making it four different winners in the last four editions. Previous winners Riverside (3), WPCC (2), Wanderers (2) and Beaulieu are all back, joined by Morningside Country Club, PHSOB Hockey, and Kearsney Hockey Club in the quest for glory.

This year’s qualifiers are a game-changer, with more clubs and teams joining the fun. We’re excited to welcome MCC Hockey, Gelvandale, Harlequins and Uitenhage in the women’s qualifier, while the men will see action from Phoenix, Shumbas, Impis, and Old Eds.

As we celebrate a decade of this incredible tournament, we can’t wait to see some thrilling matches, outstanding talent and the true spirit of hockey. Here's to another decade of pure hockey enjoyment and excellence!

You can follow the action through the Sportivo App, while all games will be available on the SuperSport Schools Streaming platforms. We are also excited to share that games on Friday night and Saturday will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Other Events

Belgotex Sport Brochure

Download our brochure

Our 16 sport surfaces, international partnerships and Green credentials